Taco Macaroni

February 21, 2017

In a lot of ways I’m nothing like my mother and in some ways I am A LOT like her.  One thing we share is a love for recipes and cooking.  She used to have tons and tons of cookbooks, magazines, and clippings of recipes to try.  Much like her even with Pinterest  I still have all those cookbooks, magazines, clippings and in my case printouts from websites that I would file away to try later.  The other day while going thru that old recipe file box I found this recipe I printed in 2009 from of course my trusty Taste of Home.  Oh and yes I said 2009!  I’ve never tried it so I thought yeah 8 years was long enough.  Plus, I had everything on hand and was looking to use up some ground turkey in the fridge.

dscn8138

Taco Macaroni

(adapted from Taste of Home)

16 ounces elbow macaroni

1 pound ground beef ( I used ground turkey)

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 can 14 1/2 ounces diced tomatoes, undrained

(I used Del Monte diced tomatoes with Zesty Mild Green Chilies)

1 can Campbell’s Tomato Soup 10 3/4 ounces

1 can 8 ounces tomato sauce

1/4 cup taco seasoning

Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Light Sour Cream (optional)

Cook macaroni according to package directions.   Spray a large pot with a little cooking spray and cook the ground turkey and onion until no longer pink.  (If using ground beef you more than likely will need to drain off the excess fat).  Stir in tomatoes, soup, tomato sauce, and taco seasoning.  Bring to a boil and reduce heat.  Simmer uncovered 8-10 minutes or until thickened.  Add your cooked macaroni into the meat mixture and heat thru.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.

*I love sour cream on my tacos so I thought I’d add a dollop on top and try it out.  It was pretty good.

~Andrea

 

Linking up with:

Twinkly Tuesday

Create Link Inspire

Lou Lou Girls

Show and Tell @ Eighteen25

Hearth and Soul Link Party

Inspire Me Monday

Two Cups Tuesdays

 

 

One comment

  1. I can totally understand what you mean – in many ways I’m very like my late Mom,and in others I am nothing like her too! Your Taco Macaroni looks delicious – a lovely vintage recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us at Hearth and Soul. Hope to see you again this week!

Leave a Reply

