Tuesday Takes

Tried some new recipes this weekend and all were good!  Love when that happens.  One needs a little tweaking in my opinion so I won’t share until I can get it to where I like it.

First The Country Cook’s  Chicken Stew.  I pinned this in December to try and couldn’t wait on this one,  it was on the top of my list.

stew

Look at all the hearty goodness in that ladle !

Here’s how I did her recipe:

Country Cook’s Chicken Stew

1 tbsp olive oil

1 medium onion finely diced

1 cup chopped carrots

1 cup chopped celery

2 cloves garlic minced

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp dried thyme

2 32 oz cartons chicken broth low sodium

1 12 oz package Reames Frozen Egg Noodles

1  cups 1 %  milk

1/2 cup half and half

1/4 cup corn starch

chopped cooked chicken breast

1 cup frozen peas

(I added frozen Lima beans and corn because the boys were out-of-town and my girl doesn’t like peas)

In a large pot, over medium-high heat, add olive oil. Saute the onion, carrots and celery for about 5 minutes .  Then add in the minced garlic and cook for an additional minute. Season with salt, pepper and thyme.  Add both cartons of chicken broth and bring  to a boil.  Then add your noodles and let simmer over medium-heat for 10 minutes.  Next add your chicken and frozen veggies and simmer for another 10 minutes.  In a bowl, whisk together milk and cornstarch until smooth.  Pour milk mixture into pot and stir well.  Bring mixture up to a gentle boil to thicken.

SO SO GOOD!!  You’ve gotta try it!   My daughter and her friend were my guinea pigs on Sunday and they both loved it too.  My daughter ate it again for lunch Monday and my son ate the rest when he got home from Florida and he gave it a thumbs up too.  You know it’s good when leftovers are just as good.

Next for dinner I wanted to do something in the crock-pot and I typed in the search engine on Pinterest boneless skinless chicken thighs in crock-pot.  This was the first recipe to come up,  Honey- Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs.  This was super good too.  My daughter and I really liked it and my husband ate this on Monday for his dinner when they got back from Florida and he said it was really good too.  Momma was 2-2 this weekend on the new recipes she tried.

Honey Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

crockpot

I forgot to get a picture after they were completely done.  I snapped this while they were in the crock-pot cooking, they smelled so GOOD!

2 pounds boneless skinless chicken thighs

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup ketchup

1/3 cup honey

3 cloves garlic minced

1 teaspoon dried basil

Place chicken in crock-pot and mix together remaining ingredients pour over the top and cook on low 6 hours or until chicken is done. I think mine were probably done around the 5 hour mark.  Will watch more closely next time and see.  These were so tender and so flavorful.

Linking up at:

Twinkly Tuesday with Mummascribbles

Nap Time Creations Create Link Inspire

Two Cup Tuesdays

Inspire Me Mondays

Hearth and Soul Link Up

~Andrea

2 comments

Leave a Reply

