Tuesday Takes

What’s the saying?  Plans are made to be broken? No. That’s rules.  I do know one thing in my house plans are made to be changed.   Swoosh…. that’s the sound of my Menu Plan Monday being tossed out the window.  I should have known better, it’s not a big deal really, and I most definitely am used to this by now.   I grew up in a home where my parents rarely changed a plan.  Notice I didn’t say never because again you know that saying “never say never”.    My mom would put a menu for the week on the side of the fridge that we could always go to and see what was for dinner.  That menu plan did not change.  I don’t ever remember a time when it did.  It could have but hey I was a kid.  My job back then was just to show up and eat. Even on vacations my parents had a plan for where and/ or what we’d be eating on what nights.  Whether it be dinner out, subs, or pizza ordered in or my mom cooking a meal.   Fast forward to my home with my husband and my own family.  I can’t tell you how many times I’d get a call from him asking either “would you be OK if I did this?”  or “what’s on the menu tonight because I’m in the mood for take out and I’ll pick some up.”  That my friends would have NEVER happened in my household growing up.   Oops I said never didn’t I?  Well I feel pretty confident in that never.  OH and the first time we vacationed with my parents and my husband wanted to get pizza instead of going out on Tuesday?  Well it didn’t go over well but we all survived.   With all that said my plan (yes I see the irony) from now on is on Mondays to do Monday Might Make This Week.  No pressure just options for dinner that I can have when like today I get a call from the husband asking, “hey do you mind if me and the boys leave for Florida tonight instead?” and the text reminder of back to school night this Thursday. How’d I miss that one?

So today instead  of sharing the recipe for what I had planned for dinner I will share from last week a few recipes I had pinned and I finally tried.  Three of the four items on this plate were from those pins.

dscn7998

 

Easy Garlic Parmesan Knots were a huge hit with my son.  We all liked them but he really liked them.

Easy Garlic Parmesan Knots

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

2 tablespoons Kraft Grated Parmesan Cheese

3/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon dried parsley flakes

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 (16-ounce) tube refrigerated buttermilk biscuits

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a small bowl, whisk together butter, Parmesan, garlic powder, oregano, parsley and salt; set aside. Halve each of the 8 biscuits, making 16 pieces. Roll each piece into a 5-inch rope, about 1/2-inch thick, and tie into a knot, tucking the ends. Place knots onto the prepared baking sheet and brush each knot with  butter mixture.  Place into oven and bake until golden brown, about 8-10 minutes.

The Parmesan Basil Orzo was mine and my daughter’s  favorite, but also liked by all four of us.  It has been requested that I make this again soon.

Parmesan Basil Orzo

2 Tbsp butter

1 1/2 cups orzo

3 cups chicken broth

1/2 tsp garlic powder

3/4 cup Sargento Shredded Parmesan Cheese

2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil – (I used dried basil I just sprinkled it in didn’t measure)

salt and pepper to taste

In a large skillet, combine butter and orzo.  Sauté over medium heat until orzo is golden brown, stirring frequently.    Stir in the broth and garlic powder, dried basil, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.  Cover and reduce heat to low.  Simmer 20 minutes or until orzo is tender and almost all the broth has been absorbed. Remove from the heat, stir in the Parmesan cheese until melted and combined.

Best Ever Roasted Asparagus

1 bunch of asparagus

3-4 Tbsp. olive oil

sea salt and black pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 425º .  Rinse the asparagus and dry them off with a paper towel.  Cut off about an inch at the bottom of the stalks and spread asparagus on a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil. Drizzle with the olive oil and toss. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper toss again. Place the asparagus is in a single layer on the sheet and place in oven. Roast for about 10 minutes. Asparagus with be browned on the outside and have a crispness to them.
* These were perfect with just the salt and pepper.  Next time I may try some other seasonings.   I love asparagus but I’ve never made it at home.  Not sure why I waited so long!  It was so easy.  Both the kids tried it for the first time and like it, the husband passed on trying.

The chicken on the plate is just a bone in roasted chicken breast brushed with a mixture of a Lipton’s Garlic and Herb Recipe Soup & Dip Mix  packet , water and olive oil.  So good so easy! My local grocery stores stopped carrying this.  The only place I could find it was Walmart.  Last time I went there wasn’t any on the shelf.  Amazon to the rescue!

Hope you have a great Tuesday.  I know I plan on it.  (wink wink)

~ Andrea

Linking with:

Twinkly Tuesdays

Two Cup Tuesday

Totally Terrific Tuesdays

Turn It Up Tuesday

Create Link Inspire

Lou Lou Girls Fabulous Party

Hearth and Soul Link Party

Coffee and Conversation

Wine’d Down Wednesdays

3 comments

  1. Oooh love the orzo recipe. I always just cooked it like pasta in plain salted water? It is actually one thing my toddler will eat so I will definitely be giving this a try! #twinklytuesday

    1. It really was very good. It came to work with me the next day in my lunch too! The kids were funny they asked a few times “now is this rice or pasta?”

  2. I find it hard to stick to a menu plan too – our life seems to be constantly evolving! Love this meal though – and what gorgeous biscuits too! Thank you for sharing these yummy recipes with us at Hearth and Soul. Hope to see you again this week – the hop is open now!

Leave a Reply

