Tuesday Takes

 

 

Today I wore this scarf that I broke down and finally purchased back in November. I’ve had it and another (which I also bought) but in a different color from Nordstrom pinned for awhile. While catching up on Bloglovin’  I see on one of my favorite blogs Living In Yellow that the scarf is on sale for $9.98.  I paid 60% more!  Just another Law of Murphy’s.

 

img_4519

Plaid Infinity Scarf

 

I know it’s Tuesday but with the holiday it’s really my Monday and it’s a dreary, rainy day so I need a little help from my Young Living Oils.

img_4511

Yesterday we took down Christmas.  Always bittersweet, always a pain in the butt, always wondering why I have so much stuff.

img_4487

What is it about rainy days that make me want some soup? Of course I know I’m not the only one who feels this way.  All day at work I was thinking about one of my favorite soups I found in one of my many  Taste of Home cookbooks I bought years ago.   I have found so many amazing recipes in my Taste of Home cookbooks.  This Swedish Meatball Soup is a blue ribbon contest winning recipe.  I altered some of the ingredients tonight and it still tasted just as good as the original recipe.

 

Swedish Meatball Soup Recipe

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/3 cup 1% milk
  • 1 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon beef bouillon granules
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 pound red potatoes, cubed
  • 1 package (12 ounces) frozen peas

In a large bowl mix egg, bread crumbs, ground beef, 1/3 cup milk and season with salt and pepper.  Form into 1 inch meatballs. Brown in olive oil in a large pot.  Remove meatballs from pot and set aside.  Add butter to the pot and melt.  Stir in flour and gradually add 3 cups water stirring until smooth. Cook for two minutes and allow to thicken.  Add beef bouillon and garlic salt and salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil.  Add potatoes and meatballs and return to a boil.  Cover and simmer 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Add the frozen peas and one cup milk and cook another ten minutes.

 

~ Andrea

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

