New Year’s Day Superstitions or Traditions?

Superstitions and traditions there may be a fine line between the two now that I really think about it.  Wishes for good luck, health, and wealth and eating foods to achieve that.  Last night while at dinner my husband said he heard it was bad luck to eat lobster on New Year’s Day.  I had never heard that one so I pulled out the cell phone and checked Google.  I have to tell you I don’t know whether that’s true or not because I got sidetracked when I found a certain thing NOT to do on New Year’s Day.  LAUNDRY!  Yes laundry.   So I ran home and busted out some laundry before we left to go to a NYE party.   Since no joke it was my plan to do laundry on New Year’s Day, exciting I know.

What I DO, do on New Year’s Day is eat some Hoppin’ John Soup.  It is the one recipe we all like and eat to get some black-eyed peas in our bellies for good luck.  Again it’s a superstition that we have made into a tradition.   I also saw while googling last night that eating ring shaped foods is good luck.  The website suggested a bundt style cake, donuts or bagels.  So I pulled out the recipe for Pillsbury Grands Baked Sugar Doughnuts.  A little extra luck never hurt anyone….

Today while watching the Redskins (don’t get me started on superstitions here) I made another recipe my MIL sent to me before Thanksgiving which has become a fast favorite in our house.  Crab Bombs.  These little bites of goodness are Da’ Bomb (insert my daughter rolling her eyes).   I highly recommend these if you can get your hands on some crab meat.

Here’s wishing everyone a healthy happy and safe 2017!

 

~Andrea

img_4481

Hoppin’ John Soup

Quick Hoppin’ John Soup

 

1 pound Jimmy Dean pork sausage
1 (6 ounce) box long grain and wild rice, with seasoning packet
2 (15 ounce) cans black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed
2 (14.5 ounce) cans diced tomatoes, with liquid
2 (14 ounce) cans Swanson Chicken Broth
2 cups water
salt and pepper to taste

 

In a large pot brown and crumble the sausage.  Once cooked add the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer 20 minutes or until the rice is tender.

 

dscn7979                                                Grands! Baked Sugar Doughnuts

Grands! Baked Sugar Doughnuts

1 can (16.3 oz.) Pillsbury Grands refrigerated biscuits
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, melted

 

Place biscuits on a cutting board, I like to roll the biscuits out a little to even them out and make them a little bigger.  Cut a hole in the center of each biscuit with and 1 1/4 inch round biscuit cutter.  Save the centers!  I don’t own a biscuit cutter so I use one of my slender shots glasses, works just as good.  In a bowl mix the cinnamon and sugar.  Dip the biscuits and centers into the butter and let excess drip off.  Coat in cinnamon sugar mix and place on ungreased cookie sheet.  ( I line it with parchment paper)  Bake at 350 degrees 14-18 minutes or until golden brown.

 

dscn7974

Crab Bombs

Crab Bombs

 

 

1 pound lump crab meat
1 egg, beaten
1 cup Ritz crackers, crushed
1 teaspoon yellow mustard
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, chopped
1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning (I use more)
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
melted butter

 

Place crab meat in a mixing bowl and pick any stray shells.  Add crushed Ritz crackers.  I literally crush these with my hands, no need for a food processor.  Sprinkle with Old Bay and add parsley.  In a separate bowl combine the egg, mustard, lemon juice and Worcestershire sauce.  Whisk together.  Pour egg mixture over the crab mixture and mix gently trying not to break up the lumps of crab.  Mold into 1 inch balls and place on a cookie sheet (again I line it with parchment)  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Brush melted butter on the bombs and bake another 5 minutes or until golden.

parsley

The crab bombs call for fresh parsley which didn’t look the greatest so this little tube was used instead! 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

