Andrea’s answer to the best snickerdoodle cookie recipe!

I am an addict.  There I said it. I am addicted to those little recipe magazines that you find in the check out aisle at the grocery store.  You know what I’m talking about right?  Well I have drawers full of them and that my friends in this little gem is where I found the best snickerdoodle cookie recipe.

Image

As you can see by the post it flags sticking out from all sides I have made quite a few cookies from this book and there are plenty of dog-eared pages as well.  But, the most requested and loved has to be the Holiday Snickerdoodles.  I actually make these year round  but they are a MUST at Christmas time.

Image

(time to get a better picture…..)

Holiday Snickerdoodles

2 tablespoons each decors red and green sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon ( I use a little more we like cinnamon!)
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
2 eggs
2 3/4 cups Gold Medal® all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. Heat oven to 400ºF. In small bowl, mix red sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons of the cinnamon; set aside. In another small bowl, mix green sugar and remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon; set aside.
  2. In large bowl, beat sugar, shortening, butter and eggs with electric mixer on medium speed, or mix with spoon. Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt.
  3. Shape dough into 3/4-inch balls. Roll in sugar-cinnamon mixtures. Place about 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until centers are almost set. Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.
Makes 6 dozen cookies (perfect for a cookie exchange!)
** Of course you can use whatever color decors sugar you prefer.  As I said I make these year round so I use the sugars that are out for that holiday we are currently celebrating!
*** Also I alter the cook time on these cookies, some prefer them on the crisper side and some like them chewy.  The pic above I had cooked them on the longer side of the scale suggested.
Linking with :
http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/   What’s Cooking Wednesday
2 comments

Leave a Reply

