Andrea’s answer to, “Mom can you make that soup with the potatoes and the bacon?”

Of course I can!  Just know there’s way more in it than potatoes and bacon, this is a chowder.

Years ago before I utilized the internet for my recipes I was a cookbook fanatic much like my mother. Taste of Home and all their publications became my go to for everything.  I found this recipe “Beef and Bacon Chowder”  in their  Ground Beef Cookbook.    This is another one of those recipes where I’m pretty sure you’ll have all the ingredients on hand and it’s super easy to prepare.  It won’t be long before it’s in your bowl with bacon sprinkled on top and you’re digging in this  hearty chowder.

“Beef and Bacon Chowder”

1 pound ground beef

2 cups chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped onion

4 cups milk

3 cups cubed peeled potatoes, cooked

2 cans (10 3/4 ounces, each) cream of mushroom soup, undiluted

2 cups chopped carrots, cooked

salt and pepper to taste

12 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled

chowder

In a soup kettle or dutch oven, cook beef, celery and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink and the vegetables are tender; drain.  Add the milk, potatoes, soup, carrots, salt and pepper; heat through.  Stir in the bacon just before serving.  Yield: 12 servings (3 quarts)

Note: I personally hate to do dishes so if I can make something a one pot wonder I will.  I cooked the carrots and potatoes in the beginning with the celery, onion and ground beef.  I also am not a fan of soggy chewy bacon, I sprinkle the bacon on top once ladled into the bowl,  just personal preference there.

 

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/beefy-bacon-chowder

6 comments

  1. I love potato soups, and my husband has been requesting a thicker version than I make. This sounds like it will work!
    Thanks for linking up at Saturday Dishes! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

